I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter


(The review is also up at Chicklish, here. It was posted there originally as I was given this book to review from Luisa! :))

Title: I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You
Author: Ally Carter
Published: May 2010
Format: Paperback
Pages: 284 (excluding about author, title page, etc.)
RRP: £5.99

Rating: 12/13+

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You is the first book I have read by Ally Carter, and so far, she has really impressed me! The book is mainly set in an American private school, Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women. All of the people who live in the town of Roseville (the town the Academy is in) automatically believe the girls who go there are posh snobs who don’t really know anything and are just there because they CAN. But, oh how wrong are they. What they don’t know is that the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is actually a school to train upcoming SPIES! The Gallagher Girls (as they are known) are known in history (well, secretly – it’s a secret that one Gallagher Girl invented duct tape) as they have been around for 100 years – learning at school a variety of things such as martial arts, advanced encryption, 14 different languages and, in Sophomore year, they start Covert Operations (field work, etc.).

Sounds hard? Well Cammie, her good friends Bex and Liz and their new roommate Macey have to learn spy stuff every day in school. Whilst being pretty secluded inside their ivy-covered walls.

On their first Covert Operations Mission, Cammie, who is called The Chameleon at school (which is actually a compliment if you go to spy school – perhaps not so much at a normal high school), is spotted by a normal boy, Josh, who goes to Roseville High School. However, Cammie isn’t experienced with boys, and what with her being a spy in training, how is she going to be able to balance her relationship with him whilst doing well at spy school?

As the blurb says: Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, and track him through a mall without him ever being the wiser, but can she have a normal relationship with a boy who can never know the truth about her?

I thought this book was very well written! I really liked the fact that it was based around teenage (they are 15 or 16 year olds, I think) spies, as books and films about spies usually entertain me a lot if they are well done! And the fact that they are teenagers means I can easily relate to them and it makes it more realistic (if you can be realistic in a book about spies). The relationship between Josh and Cammie is pretty realistic too, as most YA books have relationships which aren’t true to real life, except whilst reading this I felt it was a pretty normal relationship you could have (apart from the fact that she is a spy, but yeah xD) if you are a teenager.

Overall, I think this book was really interesting and it also had some action in it too. It was well-written and it kept me wanting to find out what happened next. The characters were easy to relate to and I could easily imagine the places the character(s) was/were in with the descriptions.

I really want to find out what happens to Cammie and her friends in the next two novels, Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy, and Don’t Judge a Girl by her Cover, the next books in the series.

Rating – 5 Stars

I have given IWTYILYBTIWHTKY 5 Stars as even though some parts were quite cliche (as it is hard to not be cliche in YA novels now) the book really impressed me when it was original and I think it deserves 5 Stars!

=====================================================

-Jean

8 responses to “I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter

  1. I read this book too — until the second book, actually – and I think it’s pretty interesting. I love stories about spies, even more when it’s about young girls! I love imagining the scenes inside it, must be cool. I’m so looking forward for the third book. ^__^

  2. This novel sounds like a fun read! I really enjoyed reading your review! I’ll definitely have to pick this one up =)

  3. I have also read this book, I love the series and most of Ally Carter’s books, I just finished reading Heist Society by Ally Carter, I think you would like it.
    I reviewed it on my blog if you want to check it out.
    I was linked to your blog through Chicklish.
    I really like your blog and will be checking it out regularly now 🙂

    Isme
    The Book Slooth

  4. This sounds like an entertaining book, I’ve added it to my wishlist, thanks! 🙂

  5. Great review! I subscribe to your RSS now, found you through the Book Blog Hop!

  6. Sounds cool! I love the spy twist on a girl’s boarding school.
    *adds it to epicly huge list of Books To Read Next*.

  7. Love the hop, I discover so many wonderful book sites.
    Kelly Bookend Diaries
    http:bookenddiaries.blogspot.com

  8. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, Satellite Direct Tv

Leave a Reply

