2010 Debut Author Challenge


The Story Siren

Click image to see June’s swag!

Interested in signing up too? Then click here to get to the sign up page!

I just heard about the 2010 Debut Author Challenge from Mostly Reading YA – and I felt like signing up for my first ever challenge!

There is a bunch of swag each month that you can win, as well! So not only that you read fantastic debut novels, you get the chance of winning awesome swag!

The aim of the challenge is to read at least twelve debut YA (or MG) novels published in 2010.

My list of books to read are as follows:

  1. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
  2. Inside my Head by Jim Carrington
  3. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting
  4. Sea by Heidi R. Kling
  5. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
  6. The Red Umbrella by Christina Gonzalez
  7. The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
  8. Wintercraft by Jenna Burtenshaw
  9. Feed by Mira Grant
  10. The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney
  11. The Rise of Renegade X by Chelsea Campbell
  12. A Blue So Dark by Holly Schindler

(all will be linked soon)

I am expecting a lot of changes to the list, as I find out whether all these books are going to be published in the UK this year!

I would also appreciate if you have any recommendations for any debut books coming out, or if a book here you really enjoyed/or didn’t like at all! 🙂

=====================================================

-Jean

5 responses to “2010 Debut Author Challenge

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 2010 Debut Author Challenge « Magic Bean Review -- Topsy.com

  2. You’d be please to know that The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff will be pub. by S&S UK in Jan 2011 with a VERY HOT cover. I’m not kidding. The guy on the cover has the hotness that can rival Patch from Hush Hush.

    The Iron King is an amazing book, hope you get to read that soon!

    Debuts I recommend:
    Birthmarked by Caragh M. O’Brien AMAZING dystopian
    A Most Improper Magick by Stephanie Burgis ADORED this. Pub. Aug 2010 in UK!
    Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken SWOON!
    Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey

    Non debut but a book everyone must read: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

    • Thanks for letting me know! Seeing as The Replacement is out in 2011, I won’t be able to add it to my challenge, but I will def. add it to my TBR list!

      Thanks for the recommendations – I’m going to look out for the other titles on my list to see if they are pub. in 2010 – if not, I will definitely add these to my challenge!

  3. They are all published in 2010 in US but I don’t think they’ll be pub. in UK except for A Most Improper Magick.

  4. I just added The Sky is Everywhere to my list too! It sounds SO good! I definitely recommend reading The Iron King – it was AMAZING! Good luck with the challenge!

Leave a Reply

