Inside my Head by Jim Carrington


Title: Inside my Head
Author: Jim Carrington
Published: April 2010
Format: Paperback
Pages: 341 (excluding about author, title page, etc.)
RRP: £6.99

Rating: 13+

Inside my Head is Jim Carrington’s debut novel.

“This cleverly constructed narrative consists of three points of view: of Gary, constantly victimised by the school bully, Knaggs, in a nasty, name-calling and vindictive way; the bully’s friend, David and a new girl to the school, Zoe. All viewpoints are revealing. Gary reveals the painful and often unsuccessful attempts by a young man to control his anger under great provocation – and his inability to communicate. David is someone who is uncomfortable with the bullying but doesn’t dare to do anything about it – until the end. Zoe is a young woman who can see Gary through different eyes and is independent, freethinking and brave. Also featured in this title are rampaging tractors, shotguns and cheese puffs.”

Inside my Head consists of the points of view of Gary, Zoe and David. The book follows the events in their lives over the course of a week or so. I thought this book was extremely well written! The effects of bullying were well put and compelling, and it showed the feelings of people from different perspectives of the bullying. David, Knaggs’ friend feels the guilt and shame after succumbing to peer pressure and not telling the real truth. Zoe, who meets Gary BEFORE finding out he is bullied, doesn’t judge him, and is disgusted by Knaggs, and his behaviour towards Gary. Gary is completely and utterly bored of it, and is very angry.

The characters were developed very well – I could easily understand why they all did the things they did. They were all very realistic, and as bullying is such a common thing, but so easily misunderstood, I thought their reactions to what happened were also true to life. I felt that they were actually teens because they had normal teenage problems – and also, they actually swore!

The actual bullying was so absolutely amazing, I was squirming in my seat when he was being teased and tormented – and Gary’s revenge was even more shocking. Very evil, but incredibly clever.

Jim Carrington’s debut is fresh and synchronises with life as we know it. He manages to write about things not written well before, and his writing makes you contemplate about life.

I would give Inside my Head a massive 5 out of 5!

The writing is flawless and is so believable. The characters felt real and as if I knew them, and the bullying was so realistic I was cringing whilst reading.

=====================================================

-Jean

One response to “Inside my Head by Jim Carrington

  1. Sounds amazing! I will add it to my to-read list 🙂

Leave a Reply

