ARC: Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin


Title: Low Red Moon
Author: Ivy Devlin
Published: September 2010
Format: Paperback
Pages: 196 (excluding about author, title page, etc.)
RRP: $16.99 (£6.99 to preorder on Amazon UK)

Rating: 13+

Low Red Moon is about Avery Hood, who is reeling from the loss of her parents–and the fact that she can’t remember what happened to them even though she was there.

She’s struggling to adjust to life without them, and to living with her grandmother, when she meets Ben, who isn’t like any guy she’s ever met before.

It turns out there’s a reason why, and Ben’s secret may hold the key to Avery finding out what happened to her parents…

But what if that secret changes everything she knows about–and feels for–Ben?

I have to admit, upon reading the blurb of my Low Red Moon ARC, I thought it wasn’t going to be that amazing. Oh gee, not another paranormal romance! But I was surprised! The intriguing mystery part, for a while, seemed pointless – I thought there was not much mystery.. I thought I had it sussed! But I was – yet again – surprised.

Ivy Devlin has managed to inject some new material into the YA paranormal genre – rather than the usual vampire/werewolf boy coming along and wooing a normal girl – there is more depth to this book, and even though this injection didn’t show itself at first – upon finishing the novel I was quite content!

The characters were, I thought, pretty well developed. Not as much as some other non-paranormal YA books, but a lot better than most other paras’. Avery’s parents’, when they were described (by Avery thinking or talking to her grandmother, Renee) I thought they seemed very nice people, and I started to feel for Avery and Renee, and their losses. This is a mark of a good book, when I start feeling emotional towards the characters!

Avery, the main character, at times she was self centred, but she was centred towards sadness and grief for her parents. Renee and Avery’s relationship seemed realistic – they hadn’t been close for a long time, so had trouble relating to each other and being emotional. I thought their feelings towards each other were written well and true to life.

Ben.. Ben, Ben. What can I say? Devlin managed to write about Ben in a way that his looks weren’t described every page. When he was, however, he looked hot. He was also very charming and gentleman like – something not found much nowadays – but a breath of fresh air.

Ben and Avery’s relationship is not one you would come across in real life, not a bond like theirs. Unfortunately, I thought at some points I thought their relationship was nearly too… unreal, it was hard to believe. It was well written though, so it is quite easy to ignore!

The mystery was the best bit – I thought I had it sussed, but there were real twists and turns, going back, forwards, every which way!

I give Low Red Moon.. 4 Stars

For a paranormal romance, it had slightly different elements than the norm. However, I felt sometimes not attracted to the book for sometimes Avery was very self centred towards herself, not caring much for Renee, who would also be hurting for her parents deaths too.

Sometimes the book failed to captivate my imagination, with some normal paranormal sections, but with the interesting writing style, good characters and the mystery element, it deserves those stars!

=====================================================

Thanks to Sarah from Sarah’s Reviews for the opportunity of the Low Red Moon UK Book Tour! xxx

-Jean

5 responses to “ARC: Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention ARC: Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin « Magic Bean Review -- Topsy.com

  2. Great review! I’ve heard some mix reviews about this one. I’ve added it to my TBR list! =)

  3. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment wishing me well. Of course I had to come by and check out your blog… I am now following and look forward to reading more of your reviews.
    All the best,
    Kim

  4. Pingback: hypertension? – Hypertension

  5. Hi, I’m here on the hop! I’m also a pretty new blogger–I have a daughter just your age who is also really into everything Japanese…she’s been studying Japanese with a private tutor for about three years and now can actually speak (the writing’s really hard though). Your blog looks really great!

Leave a Reply

