Cross My Heart And Hope To Spy by Ally Carter


Title: Cross My Heart & Hope To Spy
Author: Ally Carter
Published: First published 2007 in US, in the UK published 2010
Format: Paperback
Pages: 264 (excluding about author, title page, etc.)
RRP: £5.99
Rating: 13+

There I was: Cammie the Chameleon—the Gallagher Girl who had risked the most sacred sisterhood in the history of espionage. For a boy. But I was through with lying. And sneaking around. I was going to be…myself.

Despite Cammie’s best intentions to be a normal student, danger seems to follow her. Cammie and her friends must clear her name by discovering the truth about some mysterious guests…but this time the stakes for Cammie’s heart – and her beloved school – are even higher.

I really enjoyed the first book in the series, I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You, so I bought this book myself, hoping it would live up to the last book – and boy, it was great.. maybe even better!

This book introduced a lot of interesting characters… Zach being one of the main ones. I thought he was well developed, and kept being mysterious and a little secretive – and that Cammie sometimes, I think, got a bit jealous and/or suspicious about him. But I loved her relationship towards him 😄

Cammie, being slightly older, and having experienced the last term, still has a lot to say, and is still witty – but she seems a little more mature and aware of herself. Although, it doesn’t stop her from embarassing moments, like when her bra unclips and starts falling off!

I think the mysterious surrounding the Blackthorne Institute kept me reading it, but unless the writing style wasn’t that good, or I didn’t like the characters, then I might have gotten bored, as there is not much plot and action in this book, which I think is disappointing for a book with spies in!

Rating = 4 Stars. If I could give it 3 and a half, I probably would!

Overall, I did enjoy the book, because I love the characters in it, as they are all quite quirky and interesting. The fact that there were so many secrets also kept me wanting more, but really… no action in a spy book?! That’s what let me down, really. I will be buying the next book, either with the new cover, or just purchasing from over the pond. I hope the next book has slightly more action and plot in it, though!

=====================================================

I am thinking about changing my rating system, and instead use grades, so that there is more variety to mark it out of. I will be hopefully working on that this week, so hopefully in the next couple of reviews you’ll be seeing it!


One response to “Cross My Heart And Hope To Spy by Ally Carter

  1. So glad that this book lived up to your expectations….it’s great when a sequel accomplishes that, although the lack of action…really? With spies? Huh…
    OMG on the bra fiasco…embarrassing moments can happen no matter how mature one gets, sometimes even more.
    Thanks for sharing…and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

