Book Blogger Hop


School has been pretty hectic the past week. Several tests and homework, but luckily next week I have one test and no homework! Funny, that.

ABOUT THE HOP:

In the spirit of the Friday Follow, I thought it would be cool to do a Book Blogger Hop to give us all bookies a chance to connect and find new blogs that we may be missing out on!  So, I created this weekly BOOK PARTY where book bloggers and readers can connect to find new blogs to read, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!  It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs that they may not know existed!  So, grab the logo, post about the Hop on your blog, and start PARTYING!!

How do you spread the word about your blog?
(e.g. Social Networking sites, Book Blog Directories, comments on other blogs…)
?

I think, that even though I am still quite new to the book blogosphere, I have made a successful blog in the past, and on WordPress, it is all down to tagging your posts with the right tags. I think that is a really important element, and it helps Google attach those words to a post and gets more searches for you.

Other than that, I do a lot of social networking, i.e. the usual suspects. Twitter being the home of connecting in the book blogosphere. If you’re not on there, you miss a lot.

I make sure to link my name to my blog whenever I comment on other peoples’ blogs – which I don’t do enough of 😦 – so that they have somewhere to look if they want to reply back to you.

And when I first started, I plugged my name into everything I could find – all these directories and search engines for book blogs, a lot of networking via the popular memes, such as this one, and if you notice, I haven’t been networking a lot, and that is just to refrain from looking like all I DO is networking. So at the moment I am not really advertising much, and letting all the hits come from people searching for reviews!

If you are here because of the Book Blogger Hop, please make yourself known!

I will try and reply to your comment and visit your blog as soon as I can


7 responses to “Book Blogger Hop

  1. I’m stopping in for the first time at your blog, discovered via the Hop.

    My blog post is to encourage you to nominate YA favorites for a Cybils award.

  2. Hopping through. I use the Hops for publicity. I use Twitter a little, but need to use it more. You’re right…it really is crucial in the book blogging community.
    My Hop

  3. As I was contemplating this topic today I decided that my problem is that I don’t use my blog as a form of social networking, though I guess I am doing a bit of it by leaving comments like this one.

  4. Great answer, maybe i should bite the bullet and join twitter, I do everything but. Like you I don’t blog to network so I hate when you get carried away with it (which you really have to do at first, sigh).
    Great answer, you’ve got me thinking!
    I’m a new follower, stop by and check my blog out if you have the chance!
    http://www.TheDiaryofaBookworm.com
    Rhiannon

  5. Just hoppin’ on by! ❤

    I'm a new book blogger too, so I have no idea what I'm doing. I try to tweet, but I feel like my attempts are so transparent that people KNOW I'm trying to network.

    So mostly I just visit other blogs and comment on their reviews or content, and I end up making friends that way. 😀

    My hop :3
    Kristina

  6. Lovely blog! Stopped by from the Hop!

  7. I agree with you, Twitter is invaluable for keeping up on book news! I never thought I would get one, but it’s been so useful for my blog. I’m also trying to get more people to my blog through regular features. One of my newest is to ask book bloggers a question at the beginning of the month, and post their responses with links on the last Thursday of the month. This month, being October, the question is about scary stories. I’d love to have more participation if you’re interested! Happy Hopping!

Leave a Reply

