Book Blogger Hop


Mid term holiday is here – and prelims are in November 😦 This holiday will be filled with revision, revision and more revision…

I have books that need their reviews posted up, though 🙂

ABOUT THE HOP:

In the spirit of the Friday Follow, I thought it would be cool to do a Book Blogger Hop to give us all bookies a chance to connect and find new blogs that we may be missing out on!  So, I created this weekly BOOK PARTY where book bloggers and readers can connect to find new blogs to read, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!  It will also give blog readers a chance to find other book blogs that they may not know existed!  So, grab the logo, post about the Hop on your blog, and start PARTYING!!

When you read a book that you just can’t get into, do you stick it out and keep reading or move to your next title?

I always, always keep reading. No matter how bad it is, I keep reading in the hope that I will end up enjoying it.

I keep reading solely so that I can have a valid opinion of the book, so that my review is actually a review of the book, and not just an assumption.

I think it is important as reviewers that we do keep reading, because we were probably sent it for free, from the publisher, so that we would give a review.

If you are here because of the Book Blogger Hop, please make yourself known!

I will try and reply to your comment and visit your blog as soon as I can

18 responses to “Book Blogger Hop

  1. Hi- I am here from the bloghop. I wanted to know if you receive most of your books from publishers. Your comment says “I think it is important as reviewers that we do keep reading, because we were probably sent it for free, from the publisher, so that we would give a review.” I buy or check out most of my books from the library so I feel no obligation to the publisher. And if the book stinks…well it stinks. I do try to finish it. And I think our personal taste plays into it a lot as well. But, if a publisher sent me a book, I would finish it and publish an honest review being as kind as I could.

  2. Just stopping by for the hop!!! I hope that you are having a great weekend so far!! I agree on your thoughts for reading a book, but for me most of the book that I do read are from the library or bought, so really it just depends on where I get them from, and if I can’t get into it usually by halfway, than I know I probably wont, but I do try to keep reading, but I just hate forcing myself to read something I am not getting into.

    Feel free to come on over to my place at Addicted To Romance

    Happy Reading!!

  3. Happy HOP! Most times it depends on how I feel at the moment. Most times, it’s a case of not being the right timing and that’s when I stop and try again later. If I have a STRONG reaction of dislike, I immediately stop and walk away.

    I’ve been pretty lucky that of all the books I’ve been asked to review from authors and publishers, I’ve loved them and there’s only been one case where I just couldn’t keep reading no matter how hard I forced myself (30 references to the lead girl talking about her boobs and how mad she was no one would touch them in 40 pages) Other times I couldn’t finish the book I’ve bought it myself and so it’s not an issue of feeling obligated.

    Happy reading 🙂 HOP on over and visit

  4. Just visiting from the hop. Love your reviews — very detailed. I also am a “YA” person, so I’m interested in several of the books you reviewed. Thanks!

  5. Hi! I’m here from the hop. I’m usually the same way, but if I really can’t stand a book or a character or the writing then I have to put it away, otherwise I’ll never finish it and never get round to starting another book. Have a great weekend 🙂

  6. Blog Hopper here! I did it last week and fell in love with it! I remember once, I started to read a book and I just didn’t like it. A couple of years later, I picked it up again (yes, I forgot I’d read part of it). This time my tastes had changed and I absolutely Loved the book from the start to finish. So you never know. If you can’t get into it, put it aside for another time. I do.

  7. If it’s a book in a series that I enjoy and there happens to be one bad apple out of the bunch I will usually truck on through. However, if it’s the first book by an author that I haven’t read before I will put it aside. Sometimes I’m just not in the mood for a particular genre but I’ll usually come back to it… eventually. Rarely will I give up all together unless it’s really really bad!
    http://rabid-reads.blogspot.com/

  8. Hello! I’ve found you through the hop. I really like your blog and your reviews. 🙂 I don’t like to give up on a book, but so far I only review my own or library books, so giving up would be more a waste of my own money than a broken promise to someone else. Following you now.

  9. Stopping by on the hop! I admire your dedication to persevering with bad books!

    Come visit my blog to see my answer to the question (and check out my giveaway while you’re there!!) 🙂

    http://libertyfallsdown.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/book-blog-hop-15/

  10. Hopping by to say hi 🙂

    I always try to finish a book…even if I find that I’m really not getting into a book, I’ll push myself to finish unless it’s truly terrible!! I’ve only ever not finished one book.

    Have a great weekend!
    ♥Isalys
    PS: Visit our BLOG for all kinds of Halloween goodness including a Graveyard Photo Tour, Creating A Halloween Story and sign up to win our Halloween Prize Pack =)

  11. Hey Jean,
    You might remember me (or not) but I’m Rachel. I’d like to do the Book Blogger Hop but I’ve only just started my book blog a couple of days ago but if you would still like to have a little nosy at it that would be great! 😀 – I haven’t posted any reviews yet but hopefully will very soon! 🙂
    Please visit my blog if you can,
    Rachel 🙂

  12. Wow, I’m impressed! I never slug through a book if it’s really awful, no matter where it came from. You’re a tougher reader than I am 🙂

    Happy Hop!

  13. I have ALWAYS tried to finish a book I started reading…until recently I finally sat a couple aside that I just couldn’t get into and reading was becoming a chore. I hope to pick them up at a later date, as I think maybe I just wasn’t in the mood for that particular story. Hope you are having a great hop!

  14. Happy Follow Friday!!! Hope you will stop by my blog too! My publisher and I are looking for a group of bloggers for a huge blog tour next year before the release of book two in my ‘A Sense of Truth’ series! We will be giving out a few more copies of The Thirteenth Chime (we can only give out so many, being open to e-books gives an upper hand) and are still open to all interviews and guest posts. We want to fill up the Amazon page with reviews and try to reach as many people as we can!!! Hope you might consider being a part of the team! Thank you either way!

    Sincerely,
    Emma Michaels
    Emma_Michaels@hotmail.com
    http://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com

  15. I’m a slugger as well…I don’t review professionally…I think it’s English teacher’s disease for me. 🙂 Hopping by for the first time!

  16. What a cute blog…first-time visitor. Header is adorable.

    Hopping by…stop by my blog if you like to see my answer to this week’s question.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

  17. Hi!

    Hopping by from Murphy’s Library and subscribed!

    http://www.murphyslibrary.com

Leave a Reply

