Matched by Ally Condie


Title: Matched
Author: Ally Condie
Published: 2 Dec 2010
Format: Uncorrected bound proof (ARC)
Pages: 366 (ARC)
RRP: £9.99
Rating: 12/13+

On her seventeenth birthday, Cassia meets her Match. Society dictates he is her perfect partner for life.

Except he’s not.

In Cassia’s society, Officials decide who people love.

How many children they have.

Where they work.

When they die.

But, as Cassia finds herself falling in love with another boy, she is determined to make some choices of her own. And that’s when her whole world begins to unravel . . .

I personally adore dystopian novels, because I love to imagine a world that is ours, but feels so unlike it. Condie has managed to create and describe a seemingly perfect world, where the governing body is the Officials. In this world, they decide who you love and [then] marry, where you work and even what you eat. If anyone rebels they become an Anomaly, and shipped out to the Outer Provinces. Because no one wants this, this controlled world continues.

Cassia is seventeen, and at the start of the book she is set to be matched to her life partner. At this point I could see a normal seventeen year old girl, but she does not see the bad things in society, and conforms to all the rules. She is set to be getting a good work placement/job, and she is very excited for her match.

However, once she is matched, she notices a glitch. This small, yet important, moment sets the wheel in motion for the rest of the book. It raises her doubts about this perfect society, and it ignites her feelings to rebel..

I really enjoyed this book, and not just because I am generally a fan of these sorts of novels. I liked the character of Cassia, she was well developed and likeable to me.

Sometimes I felt like there was no specific plot, but there was always something interesting happening, so I didn’t really mind that much.

The writing quality is absolutely wonderful, and I think that really cemented my enjoyment of the book. The choice of words and the descriptions really made me feel like I was there, and really made me become lost in that world.

I recommend this book to all dystopian lovers, but also to romance lovers too. The romance is subtle at first, but it becomes obvious in a nice way. The book is very cleverly written, with a lot of thought gone into it.

Rating
Plot: 8/10
Not too much of a plot until nearer the end. Still, I really liked all the events and things that happen.
Writing Quality: 10/10
Very very good writing quality! It really made me enjoy the book.
Originality: 10/10
Dystopian, as I pointed out, is not original, but I do feel that this book took a different grasp – it was very refreshing.
Characters: 9/10
I loved all the characters, Bram, her mother and father, and especially her grandfather. Sometimes Xander and Ky annoyed me, but that made it all the more realistic.
Descriptions: 10/10
If a dystopian doesn’t have descriptions then it shouldn’t be a dystopian. It was not the case for Matched – I really believed I was there, it was so easy to imagine the world they were in. All the reasons for this world were given, as well, which made it all the more believable and realistic.

47/50 = 94%

===================================================

Thanks again to UK Book Tours for providing me this copy to read 🙂

2 responses to “Matched by Ally Condie

  1. Great review! I read this book a while back and reviewed it on my blog too – you commented on it, remember? Anyway, I agree with how well the characters seem so realistic in this novel but I don’t think I enjoyed it just as much as you. I scored it the rating of 3/5 .

    Rachel 🙂

  2. Pingback: Off The Shelf Reading Challenge | Magic Bean Review

Leave a Reply

