Fused by Kari Lee Townsend


Title: The Samantha Granger Experiment: Fused
Author: Kari Lee Townsend
Published: 1 November 2010 (US)
Format: Finished paperback
Pages: 197
RRP: $7.99 (US) $11.99 (CAN)
Rating: 9+

When you make a face or cross your eyes, do your parents tease that if you’re not careful, your face might stay that way forever?
Well, my parents said that if I’m not careful, I’ll turn into one of my gadgets.

I thought they were joking, people!

But-somehow, someway-I have become a living, breathing, walking piece of technology. Apparently my head now has a built-in GPS and my palm is equipped with talking and texting capabilities-just like my cell phone!

Now I’m a techno-superhero with powers that seem to have a mind of their own. And, in my case, keeping a secret identity is harder than it sounds. I short-circuit every time Trevor Hamilton looks my way.

Like being a girl isn’t stressful enough.

When Samantha Granger touches a meteor while talking on her cell phone, her life is changed forever: her body now has all the capabilities of her phone (GPS, phone, text, camera). She secretly calls herself a “Digital Diva” as she rushes to answer emergency calls. But will her identity be discovered when sparks fly (literally!) between her and Trevor, her dreamy crush? Samantha has to get a handle on her abilities and quick, because when Sam gets kidnapped and the entire town is in danger, she is the only one who can save them.

This book has the flavour of a cartoon, or a comic, without any pictures – it’s really good on dialogue and the way people interact with each other, there’s a clear, sequential story and things move on at a cracking pace. And it’s all quite readable – I wanted to finish it, to find out the end of the story (not just particularly to see what happened to Sam, who was frankly A Bit Annoying). Great original idea for a story too. And taken at the level of a comic book, it’s a fun read too, just don’t expect any great wordy descriptions or character development. And enough with the mentions of bodily functions, thanks. The characters, particularly the adults, are sketched out in fairly basic terms so that they are Typical Busy Working Mom, Much Loved No-Nonsense Gram etc. I wonder if it was written with the thought of being turned into a film or a cartoon? It would work too, as some of the descriptions of Sam as she is downloading GPS directions and taking recordings with her eyeball sound like they could be really funny visually.

I think that this is a funny and original read if you don’t expect anything too much, it’s a bit of fun.

Rating
Plot: 7/10
There was enough action for me to enjoy the book.
Writing Quality: 7/10
The writing quality was pretty good.
Originality: 9/10
Very original idea in that it had never been done before 😛
Characters: 4/10
The characters were not that developed.
Descriptions: 5/10
There wasn’t a huge amount of descriptions, but enough for me to imagine it.

32/50 = 64%

===================================================

Thank you to Teen Book Scene for this book tour 🙂

4 responses to “Fused by Kari Lee Townsend

  1. Pingback: Guest Post/Blog Tour: Kari Lee Townsend | Magic Bean Review

  2. Hmm, I read it and thought it was better than that. But I read it looking at it from and MG perspective and what they would think of. After all, that’s who it was written for, not an adult. I think an MG girl, because let’s face it, MG boys don’t read girl books, would love this book. I try to look at all the books I read from the target market’s perspective. It makes it easier to understand simple plots, simple characters, fast pace, snappy dialogue. I think she did a great job, for an MG reader. For an adult yeah, it isn’t an adult book. But she wrote for the kids.

    Heather

  3. Thanks, Heather. That’s exactly what I did. I write two different series for both adults and MG…big difference 🙂
    And thanks, Jean. You still gave me a great review 🙂
    So glad you both enjoyed the book. I love this series!

  4. Pingback: Off The Shelf Reading Challenge | Magic Bean Review

Leave a Reply

