Entangled by Cat Clarke


Title: Entangled
Author: Cat Clarke
Published: 6 January 2011
Format: ARC
Pages: 372 (Advanced Reader Copy)
RRP: £6.99
Rating: 13/14+

‘The same questions whirl round and round in my head:
What does he want from me?
How could I have let this happen?
AM I GOING TO DIE?’

17-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with table, pens and paper – and no clue how she got there.

As Grace pours her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she’s tried to forget. There’s falling hopelessly in love with the gorgeous Nat, and the unravelling of her relationship with her best friend Sal. But there’s something missing. As hard as she’s trying to remember, is there something she just can’t see?

Grace must face the most important question of all. Why is she here?
A story of dangerous secrets, intense friendships and electrifying attraction.

When Grace Carlyle wakes up to find herself in a strange, white room, with a white chair, a white ensuite, a white bed, a white duvet, a white pillow…with a white table, with over 100 pens and a stack of paper, she writes her story. And my, that story is enthralling!

Clarke’s writing style is superb, and draws you in at the right moments to draw either laughter or sadness, and it makes this book an incredibly intriguing and interesting read…. it definitely left an impression on me.

At first, Grace may seem a little selfish and bitchy, and to me it wasn’t like that. Like in Before I Fall, I tried to look past the main characters (Sam in Before I Fall) seemingly obvious flaws, and tried to note how they changed, for better or for worse. Although, in both cases they seemed to go in a new direction which was definitely positive.

I was really intrigued by the first chapter… I was wondering what on earth was happening, so many original and strange things had happened! There was a really good element of mystery as well, it really kept me glued to the page.

What I really loved about this book was the characters, and how well developed they were, and how realistic it was. I loved the characters for what they were, and of course there were moments where the characters did something I felt was morally wrong, but it made it more realistic. It was also realistic in the fact of how the characters interacted as teenagers, and their actions and behaviour. It was so true to life I was shocked at how close it was to some people I knew..

Nevertheless, it didn’t stop my enjoyment of this book. There was maybe no set plot, but there was always something interesting happening, a cliff hanger like end to a chapter that kept me reading the book.

I really felt for Grace, and at times she may have been over reacting, and at times it may have seemed a little unrealistic, but really, people do experience things like that on a day to day basis (maybe not what Ethan did to Grace though), and that made it all the more good to me.

I really recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a little bit of thriller, romance and comedy. You will find all sorts of wonderful in this book, and it really has stayed communicating to me, even though I have finished the book…

Rating
Plot: 9/10
Mystery, surprise, all marvellously done!
Writing Quality: 10/10
Absolutely magical 😀
Originality: 9/10
I think it was a very original idea in the events that happened, and it felt so gritty and down to earth, which I felt no other British teen book had done before.
Characters: 9/10
There was so much mystery and depth to each of the characters, and a lot of their development was hidden in the pages, waiting to be read, and that was really fun to read.
Descriptions: 8/10
It sometimes felt that there wasn’t many, but the descriptions were integrated so well you could easily imagine what was happening, but not notice you were reading a description, and I think that is great story telling!

45/50 = 90%

===================================================

Thank you to UK Book Tours for this copy!

7 responses to “Entangled by Cat Clarke

  1. your review is killing me!!!! what happens?!?!?!?!?!–normally I don’t look for spoilers, but mystery/thriller/romance/comedy!?!??!?! is it dystopian, too?–actually, no, really, is it!??!?!—my first thought is maybe a hospital?—It sounds like a great read, but I may just have to read it so I don’t die of curiosity!!! –Glad you enjoyed it!!!

  2. I so want this book! I guess I’m going to have to order from the Book Depository because I have no idea of it will be released in the US. I must have this book! I have read so many good things about it. And that cover is so striking it just grabs me and makes me want to read it even if I hadn’t read so many good reviews. Your review though is the first that has mentioned comedy. I’m totally intrigued now. My mind was in a much darker place as to what happened to her.

    Heather

    • Well it is kind of the comedy that teenagers do, it wasn’t too obvious, but I did laugh several times during the book. 🙂

      Hope you enjoy the book!

  3. ok–it is definitely on my list!!!–great review!!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Off The Shelf Reading Challenge | Magic Bean Review

Leave a Reply

