NEWS: Fiction Express and Girls ♥ Books!



A huge group of writers who write for girls, ranging from 9 to teens, have got together to produce a wonderful blog! Basically, it’s like a huge mishmash of interesting authors talking about anything from inspiration to making raspberry and maggot jam… You get the picture!

It gets even better, though. The blog will include competitions, giveaways, event announcements and lots of sneaky peak information regarding your favourite authors! How awesome is that?!

The amazing cast of authors who are writing on this blog, are:

Sophia Bennett, Anna Carey, Cathy Cassidy, Linda Chapman, Lisa Clark, Anne-Marie Conway, Jo Cotterill, Judi Curtin, Susie Day, Fiona Dunbar, Hilary Freeman, Maggi Gibson, Griselda Gifford, Cathy Hopkins, Liz Kessler, Karen King, Joan Lennon, Kate Maryon, Karen McCombie, Wendy Meddour, Diane Messidoro, Sue Mongredien, Tamsyn Murray, Joanna Nadin, Luisa Plaja, Leila Rasheed, Keris Stainton, Julie Sykes, Rosalie Warren, Sarah Webb and Kay Woodward!

There is plenty that I know, have heard of and love, but there is a few that I haven’t heard of before, and I can’t wait to find out more about them 🙂

Click here to check out Girls Heart Books!

Fiction Express allows readers to control plotlines in real time.

Fiction Express releases weekly high quality fiction targeted at tweens and teens. At the end of each chapter, readers are given options to vote on, and this determines what happens next!

Episodes are released every Friday at 3.30pm, and have until 10am on the following Monday to cast their vote.

This must be really challenging for the authors, but offers really exciting ideas. The authors will write the next chapter in real time, according to the most popular option voted for!

There are four titles being launched first:

  • Diary of a Mall Girl by Luisa Plaja
  • The Soterion Mission by Stewart Ross
  • Soul Shadows by Alex Woolf 
  • The Last Symbol by Rebecca Morton

Each e-book will be published in 11 weekly episodes. The first is available for free, and subsequent episodes sell from as little as 59p.

Fiction Express also gives readers the opportunity to submit their own ideas for incorporation into the plot, and there will be competitions for readers to become a part of the story itself!

I am really excited about this, it is such a different method of reading a book.

The next chapters for all the books are being published in just five hours! 

I will be posting my reviews of the books subsequently – stay tuned!

9 responses to “NEWS: Fiction Express and Girls ♥ Books!

  1. Thanks Jean – I’m loving being part of Girls Heart Books! We have the most amazing giveaway planned for June already: can’t wait.

    I have NO idea how Luisa is managing to write it (sounds terrifying!), but as a reader I love the Fiction Express concept. Am sitting here counting down to see whether the next chapter is the one I voted for…

    • No problem! I really love reading the posts on Girls Heart Books – it’s a further insight into authors, and the posts are really interesting 🙂 Ooh, I can’t wait to hear about this giveaway ^_^

      It’s such a new concept, isn’t it? I love how much reader involvement there is.

      Thanks for the lovely comment!

  2. Thanks for the fyi on the Girls ❤ Books–I love author blogs!!!–Can't wait to check it out!!!

    Also, really looking forward to hearing how you like the Fiction Express…I'm not sure how I feel about it, but I am curious 😉 …and by the way, how much is 59p?–is it 59p to a Pound, like in the U.S. it would be 59 cents to $1? –I'm used to thinking of U.S. currency, and when I first read that, I was thinking $59…which would NOT be a cheap book, lol.

    • No problem, I love reading their posts too! 🙂

      No, it’s 100p = £1, so 59p is just over half. There’s 11 chapters per book, but the first one is free. So 10 x 59p = £5.90 per book, and that’s a bit cheaper than a full-priced book anyway 🙂 LOL yes, $59 is a bit steep!

  3. ahhh–L5.90 sounds much better!!! (sorry don’t know where the fancy pound sign is on my keyboard) 😉

    as to the other part, it’s also 100pennies =$1, not 59 cents–I was mainly curious if it was like cents into dollars, but realize I worded it rather poorly #facepalm *must do better proofreading* 😉

  4. Thank you so much for posting about all of this, Jean! (And thank you to Susie for the lovely comment!)
    I just typed 59p into a US dollar converter and it came up with 95 cents. I hope that helps!

  5. @Luisa–very cool!!!–I just saw one of Jean’s reviews on one of your books and it looked like a really fun read and a cute series!!! 😀

  6. Just came across this blog too – and it looks really exciting (oh, I’m the one with the raspberry and maggot jam!)

Leave a Reply

