Interview: Gina Damico on Croak


I am so pleased to be welcoming Gina Damico to Magic Bean Review to answer my questions on the first book in the Croak series!

Croak Book Cover

The premise of the book is so original and unique, what inspired you to write about a town
full of Grim Reapers?

It really just popped into my head one day. Lex and Uncle Mort sprang forth from my creative
subconscious or whatever, and they were Grims from the start. Once I realized how much fun it
was to write for characters in that profession, I just started filling the town with more people, and
the Grimsphere was born.

Uncle Mort’s name made me chuckle a little when I read it, were you simply aiming for a
link to the plot, or is there more to the special name? (Mort means death in French)

Oh, I just thought I was being clever. He’s not secretly Mortimer von Mortimer, secret dethroned
king of Deathylvania.

There’s mystery aplenty in Croak – did you aim to keep this deliberately or are you keeping
more information for the series?

There is MUCH more to this story than just the information presented in Croak. Lots more
Grimsphere history to be unearthed, shocking character secrets to be revealed, and a truckload of
twists and turns along the way. Who knows how it’ll all end? (Well, I do. I think.)

Which character is your favourite, and why?

I’m not sure I can pick a favorite, but I really enjoy writing Pandora. She’s so cranky and ancient,
and uses all sorts of old-timey phrases. I get a lot of mileage out of my thesaurus with her.

Can you explain your version of the afterlife, and why did you want to modify it?

I thought it might be nice to make the atrium of the Afterlife fairly stereotypical, so that souls
would feel safe. They expect white and fluffy, so they get white and fluffy. From there, though,
anything is possible, which is sort of like how most people see death. Depending on what you
believe, you think you know what you’re going to get…but you never know.

Thanks for having me, and happy reaping reading!

One response to “Interview: Gina Damico on Croak

  1. brilliant interview!! I loved this interview, the questions and the answers were all awesome! I love this blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

